2GN.ORG 2GN.ORG
The best source for the Second Generation Neon - Period.
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   RulesBoard Rules   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks  :: Register
 ProfileProfile   GarageGarage   1/4 Mile Table1/4 Mile Table   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SOLVED: Will the RPMs dial work on the instrument cluster?


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    2GN.ORG Forum Index -> Interior
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dennis Blewett
2GN Registrant


Age: 30
Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 31




Post: #1   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:14 am    Post subject: SOLVED: Will the RPMs dial work on the instrument cluster? Reply with quote

2000 Dodge Neon: Automatic

I got an instrument cluster from the junkyard out of a 2gn manual Dodge Neon. It has RPMs on it with white faces for the dials. I was talking with someone, and the person believes that the RPM dial won't work, as the vehicle I'm going to install it into is an automatic: The person alleged that the transmission won't be setup for the RPM dial in the instrument cluster to work.

Does anyone know if the RPM dial will work in the 2000 Dodge Neon automatic?


Last edited by Dennis Blewett on Sat Sep 27, 2014 2:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Gnuserup
LE, R/T, SXT, SRT
2GN Registrant


Age: 46
Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 713
Location: Germany



Post: #2   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really wonīt believe that it wonīt work.

The rpm-dial is getting its information out of the PCI-bus and this is always transmitted.

As long as strange things like these I did are working

http://forum.2gn.org/viewtopic.php?t=58992

your project will end up successfully.

But you will loose your original mileage shown in the odometer (this is stored in the cluster AND the pcm) and maybe get a red light.

Give it a try. As far as the other cluster isnīt pretty worse defective there will be no risk.
_________________
owing possibly the most neons in europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Dennis Blewett
2GN Registrant


Age: 30
Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 31




Post: #3   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. So, if I replace the instrument cluster with the one I got from the junkyard, the odometer will be reset?

I was under the impression that if I replaced the instrument cluster, the computer in the car would transmit the odometer numbers to the replacement cluster.

From read this thread, http://forum.2gn.org/viewtopic.php?t=42200&sid=7d5bcdfb76385af240d3bc212e32f34d, someone says that a dealership might be able to get the odometer numbers equalized between the computer and the instrument cluster.

I'm assuming that's the legal thing to do, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Gnuserup
LE, R/T, SXT, SRT
2GN Registrant


Age: 46
Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 713
Location: Germany



Post: #4   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Every cluster you take shows the mileage it had when removed from the donor and counts up from there.
So if your car has 50.000, the donor 75.000, your pcm goes on from 50.000, the cluster from 75.000 and show you that higher mileage.
If you get a cluster with less, youīre fine, but mostly not legal.

Forget about the correction from the dealership.
Most wonīt do it I guess.

What I found out is, that you are able to reprogram the "white" clusters way easy yourself with special tools you get for about 300 $ or something on the internet and have to connect some wires to some points on the cluster.
But for just one time it isnīt worth it.
_________________
owing possibly the most neons in europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
sidepipe87
boom! roasted!
2009 Silver Contributor


Age: 30
Joined: 30 May 2008
Posts: 9595
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

2003 Dodge Neon SXT

Post: #5   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, the tachometer will work. the person you talked to does not own a neon. yes, your mileage will be wrong. HOWEVER you can switch the mileage board over and you will have your correct mileage as long as the new cluster has the same MPH as yours, presumably 120 max. there's a write up on here somewhere on how to swap the mileage board.

Now that I think of it, I don't think you can swap mileage boards between non tach and tach clusters and have it work
_________________
PM me for your 03+ PCM SKIM/VIN flashing needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Dennis Blewett
2GN Registrant


Age: 30
Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 31




Post: #6   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sidepipe87 wrote:
yes, the tachometer will work. the person you talked to does not own a neon. yes, your mileage will be wrong. HOWEVER you can switch the mileage board over and you will have your correct mileage as long as the new cluster has the same MPH as yours, presumably 120 max. there's a write up on here somewhere on how to swap the mileage board.

Now that I think of it, I don't think you can swap mileage boards between non tach and tach clusters and have it work


Ok, I'll look for info on moving the odometer to a different circuit board.

Thanks, all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
occasional demons
Mr One World
Moderator


Age: 51
Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 19781
Location: Ashland, Ohio

2001 Dodge Neon ES

Post: #7   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heydockyle wrote:
Well I've never had it done. Just a friend of my Dad's that works at the local Dodge shop told me that if I bought a Srt cluster that they could do it up there.


This might only apply to a brand new cluster. They have to have a way to add mileage in those cases. I'm sure the right person could add mileage to a used cluster, but making it happen might be another matter.


If you current cluster doesn't have a tach, then the mileage board will not work in one that has a tach.

To reiterate what Ryan said:
Quote:
Now that I think of it, I don't think you can swap mileage boards between non tach and tach clusters and have it work

_________________
Bill


2001 neon ES MTX with '02 R/T PCM
1999 neon 2.4 EDZ MTX
Help support 2GN!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Dennis Blewett
2GN Registrant


Age: 30
Joined: 22 Jul 2014
Posts: 31




Post: #8   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm looking into moving odometer chips.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Gnuserup
LE, R/T, SXT, SRT
2GN Registrant


Age: 46
Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 713
Location: Germany



Post: #9   PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The mileage is stored together with a couple of other things like ABS present, Autostick present - or not on the board itself. Better - on an eeprom.
By swapping the odometer, your are just swapping the display which shows, what the cluster delivers.

Maybe read the clusterrelated things here
http://forum.2gn.org/viewtopic.php?t=57495&start=30
_________________
owing possibly the most neons in europe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    2GN.ORG Forum Index -> Interior All times are UTC - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by p h p B B © 2001, 2005 p h p B B Group
2GN.org Decals
MidwestNeons.com