Where do I start with this rebuild?

This is the place to ask questions about your engine components like cams, valves, pistons… just anything that is generally "engine" specific. This also includes questions about exhaust systems such as exhaust manifolds, piping size, mufflers, ect...
yellowpatrol
2GN Member

Where do I start with this rebuild?

Post by yellowpatrol » Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:36 pm

I've never done anything like this before, but I'm trying to swap this SRT-4 engine into my SXT. For anyone who doesn't know, I got it off eBay, and returning it is not an option. I understand it's going to cost some money, but I don't know exactly how much. I'm not in too much of a hurry to get it done, but I am anxious. So far, I've stripped it down to the block and pistons. I don't really know what the next step is. Do I need to take it to a machine shop, and if so, what do I need to have done to it? If there's any more information I can provide that will help you answer me just let me know.

The entire gallery is here: http://kctrio.com/john
FEEDBACK
Adionik wrote:On a 100% stock SRT engine i've seen detonation on 93 octane, I know what i'm talking about.

all_motor_mike
2GN Member

Post by all_motor_mike » Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:02 pm

wow seems like ur in a little over ur head but atleast u have an NGC car. well i would start by stripping the block all the way down. now are u doing a performance rebuild or oem rebuild? if u are doing an oem rebuild are u resuing the pistons and rods? what are ur plans for the engine pretty much and how much money are u wanting to spend?

yellowpatrol
2GN Member

Post by yellowpatrol » Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:50 am

Well I'm thinking I want to do a bit of an upgrade over stock, but it all depends on how much it will cost. If I had to guess I would say about $5,000 is all I want to put into this.
FEEDBACK
Adionik wrote:On a 100% stock SRT engine i've seen detonation on 93 octane, I know what i'm talking about.

turbodudey
2GN Member