Sorry for the nOOb PCM Question

Just install MegaSquirt or some other system that allows you to tune your car or just have a question about tuning and the options available? Feel free to ask it here.
MoparOso
2GN Member

Sorry for the nOOb PCM Question

Post by MoparOso » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:51 am

I'm pretty experienced with vehicles in general, and for LX platform stuff I'm very well versed, but with the N/A Neon stuff I'm still learning the ropes.

I've got a defective PCM in my 2004 R/T and have purchased a new unit for the vehicle. My question here is are these PCM's like the units in the SRT4 Calibers in that they require information about the vehicle to be burned into the ROM on the new device before it can be installed?

Thanks!
Michael

04' Bright Silver Metallic Neon R/T - All sorts of goodies
05' Clearcoat Black Neon SXT - The driver
05' Clearcoat Black Crossfire SRT6 - Stock but easy on the eyes
08' Brilliant Black Pearl 300C SRT8 - 426 blown @ 11psi

occasional demons
Junior Admin

Post by occasional demons » Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:02 am

Yes it needs "Flashed" to your VIN, and SKIM to work.

If you do not want SKIM, and it is a brand new, not new to you PCM, you could remove the SKIM module and antenna from the vehicle, and have them just flash the VIN. It will probably cost the same either way. But spare keys will be about $2 :lol:

Edit: if you have already put it in the car, and tried to start it, It is now permanently a SKIM PCM. There is no going back.
Bill
Olha Koba, a psychologist in Kyiv, said that “anger and hate in this situation is a normal reaction and important to validate.” But it is important to channel it into something useful, she said, such as making incendiary bombs out of empty bottles.
2000 Neon MTX swap with '02 R/T PCM
1999 neon coupe 2.4 swap
2021 Forester

MoparOso
2GN Member

Post by MoparOso » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:23 am