Anatomy of a gauge cluster with some pointers.

Questions about interior lighting, shift knobs, just anything mainly to do with modifications on the inside of the car. Ask those questions here.
danman132x
2GN Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Crestview, FL

Anatomy of a gauge cluster with some pointers.

Post by danman132x » Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:57 pm

Well I took apart my stock r/t cluster just to see the components of it. I have taken a few first gen clusters apart, and they are extremely similar. One big thing I noticed, is that DC got cheap on these clusters, and did not use screws in all the motor assemblies. Main reason I wanted to get down to the motors, is to see if they are interchangable with different clusters, and from what I can tell, they are. The motor only has four electrical connectors which is driven by the circuit board. I read in the FSM if one motor fails, you would have to replace the entire cluster, but I see otherwise as long as your willing to remove the needle on the motor your replacing. I would be changing the MPH motor to my SRT cluster because its a little "loose" and is wobbly when I do the self test (which I will post a video), but I don't want to throw the MPH off. (I do know its 3500 rpms and 75 MPH in 5th gear, but I dont want to fumble with the needle at that speed trying to stick it on.) Well here are the pics of me taking it apart.

Everything together, with the paper
Image

Paper cover taken off, using a T15 bit for all of these screws.
Image

Where the odo hooks up
Image

Odo clip removed. Two very small pins up have to push in. I used a toothpick.
Image

After that, I gently removed the circuit board. You must be careful not to crack the board and pull evenly everywhere.

Backside where the LEDs and lights are
Image

After removing the front clear panel, you are left with this
Image

Which can be taken out of the white part
Image

The backside, once you turn it around
Image

Some shots of the motors. As you can see in these pics, there are a lot of screws not in the yellow part. Trying to save screws, DC huh?
Image

Image

Image

Image

The odometer, which I removed using a T10 bit.
Image

Image

Part # that was on the front
Image

Here is the motor assembly. They are interchangeble, so if one of yours is all bouncy, you can swap it out from one with another cluster. Just keep in mind, you need to pull the needle off, and calibrating it can be a pain.
Image

Video showing needle bouncy (on MPH gauge)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PwwdukMnlw

Swaped the motor assemble, much better results
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVydF5SklWc

Hopefully someone can make good use of this information and anatomy of a cluster. :thumbup:


Here is a single pic of my srt board
Image
As you can see, the board itself is a different color.
Last edited by danman132x on Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2003 Dodge Neon R/T

Image

http://myspace.com/danman132x

User avatar
2k1MotorSport
2011 Gold Contributor
Posts: 2558
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:15 pm
Location: Lansdale, PA

Post by 2k1MotorSport » Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:01 pm

not bad at all. Don't know if i would take mine apart (prolly because it wouldn't go back together)
-Scott
Image

magnus
2GN Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 11:58 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Post by magnus » Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:29 pm

Nice. Just out of curiousity, is the mileage of the vehicle stored on the odomoter circuit board? If so, then theoritically another cluster can be purchased, then taken apart and put back together with the old odometer to keep the same exact mileage versus finding a cluster with close mileage?

Just a random thought.

Thanks for sharing.

danman132x
2GN Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Crestview, FL

Post by danman132x » Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:31 pm

Nope :( It is stored on the main board on one of the chips.
2003 Dodge Neon R/T

Image

http://myspace.com/danman132x

User avatar
fixitmattman
2GN Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:05 pm
Location: North York

Post by fixitmattman » Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:55 pm

magnus wrote:Nice. Just out of curiousity, is the mileage of the vehicle stored on the odomoter circuit board? If so, then theoritically another cluster can be purchased, then taken apart and put back together with the old odometer to keep the same exact mileage versus finding a cluster with close mileage?

Just a random thought.

Thanks for sharing.
No. I swapped odo boards when I did my cluster swap years ago and no change, it's stored on the main cluster board.

FYI/N.B.: Non tach and tach boards are non interchangable.
http://www.cardomain.com/profile/fixitmattman
How to fix your car:
1. Buy a Haynes manual
2. Read Haynes maual
3. Read and search appropriate threads, trust us, it's been covered before
4. Fix car
5. Consume beer of job well done

danman132x
2GN Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Crestview, FL

Post by danman132x » Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:07 am

In these videos, I do the cluster self test. As you can see, the MPH needle is very bouncy, which is why I might attempt to switch out the motors. I'll let ya'll know how it goes if I attempt it. Crosses fingers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDUweDg0Mbc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PwwdukMnlw
2003 Dodge Neon R/T

Image

http://myspace.com/danman132x

GT Neon
2GN Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Post by GT Neon » Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:06 pm

Did it look like the ODO chip had a memory chip installed on it to store the ODO reading? Wonder if it would be easy enough to remove the ODO chip from one cluster to another and get the correct ODO reading. I will have to give it a try and if all else fails oh well.
David Williams
2014 Dart SXT 2.4L - Current Daily Driver
2001 SE Sedan MTX – Future Autocross Car
2002 Base Sedan (R.I.P. 1-28-2012)
1999 Sport Coupe (GT Neon) - Sold
1997 ACR Coupe - 2.4L Turbo - Sold
Website - http://www.gtneon.com
“Old Neon guys never die. They just move on to more expensive toys with bigger engines.”

User avatar
Nutmeg
2GN Member
Posts: 1524
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 7:14 pm
Location: Washington

Post by Nutmeg » Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:51 pm

2k1MotorSport wrote:not bad at all. Don't know if i would take mine apart (prolly because it wouldn't go back together)
:withstupid:
Image

GT Neon
2GN Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO

Post by GT Neon » Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:02 am

Doh
David Williams
2014 Dart SXT 2.4L - Current Daily Driver
2001 SE Sedan MTX – Future Autocross Car
2002 Base Sedan (R.I.P. 1-28-2012)
1999 Sport Coupe (GT Neon) - Sold
1997 ACR Coupe - 2.4L Turbo - Sold
Website - http://www.gtneon.com
“Old Neon guys never die. They just move on to more expensive toys with bigger engines.”

User avatar
CrashTeam
2GN Member
Posts: 1243
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Fort Madison IA

Post by CrashTeam » Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:02 am

U may have just inspired me to swap my LED's to blue LOL it looks so easy
Image
2004 Dodge Neon SRT-4, Stg2/Toys, 3" TBE, 3"o2, FM Wastegate, AEM Intake, Running 20psi

NickKo
2009 Gold Contributor
Posts: 2248
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:24 am
Location: IL./WI.border

Post by NickKo » Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:58 am

GREAT write up, Thanks ! :thumbup:

-Nick
-1998 2-dr SOHC MTX= 57mm TB; Maddog STS
-2000 Ply.LX w/MTX = Maddog STS; CAI; 2.5 exh.; 60mm T/B
-2001 ATX w/Syked PCM + Magnum header
-2001 ACR w/SRT T/B bored out to 55mm

Official "I'm Going to Drive My Neon till it Dies" Club #000009

nate-00neon
2GN Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:34 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Post by nate-00neon » Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:09 am

CrashTeam wrote:U may have just inspired me to swap my LED's to blue LOL it looks so easy
it is!

and nice write up. i would never do that tho lol

danman132x
2GN Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Crestview, FL

Post by danman132x » Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:09 pm

Thanks guys. Also added some info on the needle motor assembly.
2003 Dodge Neon R/T

Image

http://myspace.com/danman132x

User avatar
TheRandom1
2GN Veteran
Posts: 9938
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:17 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Post by TheRandom1 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:45 am

So, what part actually controls the signal for the MPH? I’m thinking about doing an SRT swap, but would really like to keep my odometer accurate. Could I swap the face to an SRT face, the MPH motor to an SRT one, and keep my stock board so my odometer stays perfect?
Image
Danteneon wrote:You doing this swap with your tech level is like asking a squirrel to land a 747.

danman132x
2GN Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:36 pm
Location: Crestview, FL

Post by danman132x » Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:56 pm

TheRandom1 wrote:So, what part actually controls the signal for the MPH? I’m thinking about doing an SRT swap, but would really like to keep my odometer accurate. Could I swap the face to an SRT face, the MPH motor to an SRT one, and keep my stock board so my odometer stays perfect?
All of the needle motors are the same. The only reason I swapped one of mine out was because it was bad, and bounced the needle very bad. ( but I also got my srt cluster for 40 bucks :D ) If you have a 120 or 140 cluster, and just swap the face, it will be off on the MPH reading. You must swap the entire cluster, including the board to make sure the MPH reading is correct. I accepted the fact that my SRT cluster is 36033 miles higher than what I atually have, but I documented it, and also recorded and took pics of me doing the gauge swap.
Last edited by danman132x on Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
2003 Dodge Neon R/T

Image

http://myspace.com/danman132x

User avatar
TheRandom1
2GN Veteran
Posts: 9938
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:17 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Post by TheRandom1 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:19 pm

Damn... alright thanks.
Image
Danteneon wrote:You doing this swap with your tech level is like asking a squirrel to land a 747.

User avatar
sxmania
2GN Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Ontario CANADA

Post by sxmania » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:06 pm

How does the black guage trim come out? Is it attached to the lens or the body of the cluster?
Id like to paint mine yellow.

nate-00neon
2GN Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:34 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Post by nate-00neon » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:01 pm

has anyone figured out how to change the miles so that it is correct when you swap clusters?
Feedback: viewtopic.php?t=48146

Image
^^Click to see all of the offered products^^

Amsoil dealer. I can get you great prices on all amsoil products! send me a pm

User avatar
relenger
2GN Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:33 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH

Post by relenger » Fri May 01, 2009 6:14 pm

I know the BASICS on how it keeps track. i will be lloking into this and hopefully come up with a solution to this problem. chances are it will cost a little money
2.4 DOHC TURBO, Pro-Racig 3" Exhaust, Charge pipes, Pro-Racing Built Engine and Head
"My lug nuts have more torque then your honda!!"
Image

mastershake
2GN Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 3:19 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, VA.

Post by mastershake » Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:32 pm

relenger wrote:I know the BASICS on how it keeps track. i will be lloking into this and hopefully come up with a solution to this problem. chances are it will cost a little money
If anyone finds this out it'd be great!! I went fron a non-tach to a tach with 55,000 more miles on it then my non-tach had!! Since the boards were non-interchangeable i couldn't just swap the boards over to carry the miliage. It's got to be one of the chips on the boards, i guess it's a matter of finding out which one!
2002 Base Neon / Patriot Blue <---GF's car
1998 R/T Neon / Flame Red (R.I.P.)
2001 LS Cavalier / (Beater)
2003 Fairlady Z / Stillen Stage 4 SC, LeMans Sunset (Garage Queen)

User avatar
Swordfish2Cowboy
2009 Silver Contributor
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:06 am
Location: Sandusky, Ohio

Post by Swordfish2Cowboy » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:30 pm

Length of the needles is just shy of 2" for the tach and speedo, and just shy of 1-1/2" for the fuel and temp, from dead center. Just in case, you know, someone plans on replacing their needles with clock hands. Like me...
ImageImage
:mopar: :runaway:

RayWolf
2GN Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:42 pm
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Post by RayWolf » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:28 pm

i have a question about the odo part you took out
i recently got picked up a new gauge cluster form the pick a part yard from a 2000 neon with a tach
(mine does nto have one) every thing work exept for the odo is wrong
can i swap the odo parts and i would have the right milage on it or not?
i really need an answer before i spend a lot of money to have this done at the dealarship
Quotes to live by

"Try again, fail again. Fail better." Samuel Beckett

"The farther backward you can look, the farther forward you will see." Winston Churchill

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." Albert Einstein

"Try not. Do or do not." Yoda

User avatar
TheRandom1
2GN Veteran
Posts: 9938
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:17 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Post by TheRandom1 » Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:59 pm

As long as it's from another Neon (not SRT-4) I believe it will work. Should be 2 screws on the back of the board that hold it in if I'm not mistaken.
Image
Danteneon wrote:You doing this swap with your tech level is like asking a squirrel to land a 747.

RayWolf
2GN Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:42 pm
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Post by RayWolf » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:33 am

TheRandom1 wrote:As long as it's from another Neon (not SRT-4) I believe it will work. Should be 2 screws on the back of the board that hold it in if I'm not mistaken.
well will that really work? because according to this post it will not
and its a 2000 neon se cluster from an automatic
just trying to find out if it works or not
if i do it the worst that will happen is i have to put the gauge back to the way it was orginally
if you know of anybody that has tried this
Quotes to live by

"Try again, fail again. Fail better." Samuel Beckett

"The farther backward you can look, the farther forward you will see." Winston Churchill

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." Albert Einstein

"Try not. Do or do not." Yoda

User avatar
TheRandom1
2GN Veteran
Posts: 9938
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:17 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Post by TheRandom1 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:39 am

Actually, the original post is about swapping motors out, has nothing at all to do with the odometer.

And I'm fairly certain it won't work, as the clips or something is different on the SRT odometer/board versus the regular Neon odometer/board.
Image
Danteneon wrote:You doing this swap with your tech level is like asking a squirrel to land a 747.

RayWolf
2GN Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:42 pm
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Post by RayWolf » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:50 am

but i have a non srt board both are stock neon boards
so would it really work or not?
and yes i know but but this is the only post about the odo board in the cluster
Quotes to live by

"Try again, fail again. Fail better." Samuel Beckett

"The farther backward you can look, the farther forward you will see." Winston Churchill

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." Albert Einstein

"Try not. Do or do not." Yoda

User avatar
TheRandom1
2GN Veteran
Posts: 9938
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:17 pm
Location: Chicagoland

Post by TheRandom1 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:53 am

If it's a non SRT board it SHOULD work. Best way to find out is to plug it in and see. If it works, great. If not, swap the other one back in, it's easy.
Image
Danteneon wrote:You doing this swap with your tech level is like asking a squirrel to land a 747.

RayWolf
2GN Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:42 pm
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Post by RayWolf » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:03 am

TheRandom1 wrote:If it's a non SRT board it SHOULD work. Best way to find out is to plug it in and see. If it works, great. If not, swap the other one back in, it's easy.
ok i will try tomorrow
but in other post i have found they say it does not work
but try i will and hey if it works because of the same years that would be awesome
or call the dodge dealer on Monday and see if they can change the mileage on the cluster



well i did try and changing the odo boards and it did not work at all
so now time to call the dodge dealer and see if they can change the milage
Quotes to live by

"Try again, fail again. Fail better." Samuel Beckett

"The farther backward you can look, the farther forward you will see." Winston Churchill

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world." Albert Einstein

"Try not. Do or do not." Yoda

maxq
2GN Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Toronto

Post by maxq » Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:16 pm

Question regarding the cluster pointers (mileage, RPM, temp and fuel pointers) how to recalibrate the pins?? I have an extra cluster that I want to paint the pointers of...possibly swap pins from another model if possible.
Image

Jenni
2GN Member
Posts: 2499
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Jenni » Sun Sep 30, 2012 9:42 am

speed and rpm are easy - they go to zero with ignition on. others are more complicated. fill the tank and stick the needle to the "full" position
no idea for the temp. a 5 Volt source could help...
or you wait till the angine has it's "normal" temp and you stick the needle to that position...

Post Reply

Return to “Interior”